AFS Student Poster Awards, Fall 2017 AFS Conference

Home » News » AFS Student Poster Awards, Fall 2017 AFS Conference

Pictured left to right Emrah Sozumert, Seungkoo Kang, Joseph Lavoie, Dr. Rahul Bharadwaj.  Not pictured is Maryam Razavi.

The AFS sponsors a student poster competition at each Spring and Fall AFS Conferences.  Students are invited to submit abstracts for either student oral/poster or poster only submission.  Each student who submits a poster receives a waived conference registration.  The student poster competition takes place on Tuesday evening from 6 – 8 pm.  Ten poster presentations were given by students.

Four students were recognized on Wednesday morning prior to the 8:30 am plenary session.  Dr. Rahul Bharadwaj, AFS 2nd Vice Chair presented the awards:

1st place – Joseph Lavoie, North Carolina State University, Fluorochemical Melt Additive Migration and Repellency in Nonwovens

2nd place – Emrah Sozumert, Loughborough University, Multiscale Modeling of Mechanical and Flow Performance of Nonwovens

3rd place (tied) – Seungkoo Kang, University of Minnesota, A Realistic Approach on Filtration Modeling

3rd place (tied) – Maryam Razavi, University of Waterloo, Interaction of Nanoparticles with a Fiber Media

Congratulations to all who participated in the student poster competition!

If you are a student and wish to participate in the AFS FiltCon 2018 in Minneapolis, submit your abstract for oral and or poster only presentation.  You must be a full-time student and submit for either student oral/poster or poster only.  If you submit for oral/poster and your abstract is accepted, your presentation will be scheduled into the technical program of the conference.  Oral presentations are 20 minutes with 5 minutes Q & A.